July 12, 2023

HSLP Class of 2023

The Sorensen Institute’s High School Leaders Program (HSLP) is a two-week program that takes place on the grounds of the University of Virginia. Individuals who successfully complete the program earn three hours of graded college credit. HSLP involves a concentrated study in civics, youth leadership, and Virginia politics and government. HSLP is designed for high school students who live and/or attend high school in Virginia. The HSLP is based on a firm belief that young people not only can make a positive difference in their communities, they should be strongly encouraged to do so.


Learn More about HSLP


  • Eleanor Ague, McLean High School, McLean
  • Lily Brame, New Kent High School, New Kent
  • Diana Carlson, Fairfax High School, Fairfax
  • Jackson DeHaven, Maggie L. Walker Governor's School for Government and International Studies, Richmond
  • Raeid Ebrahim, Fauquier High School, Warrenton (Namaha Foundation Scholar)
  • Monique Emond, Highland School, Warrenton
  • Cabria Feggans, St. Anne's-Belfield School, Charlottesville (Carol Silverman-Johnston Scholar)
  • Josie Fischman, Charlottesville High School, Charlottesville
  • Garrett Fulks, King William High School, King William
  • Zakareya Hamed, McLean High School, McLean
  • Colin Heil, Gonzaga College High School, Washington DC
  • Conner Helm, Benedictine College Preparatory, Richmond
  • Rosemary Henriquez, Mountain View High School, Stafford (IQ Latino Scholar)
  • DeVaughn Henry, Arcadia High School, Oak Hall (Carol Silverman-Johnston Scholar)
  • Jiovanni Jackson, An Achievable Dream High School, Newport News (Achievable Dream Scholar)
  • Landon Jones, Halifax County High School, South Boston
  • Isabel Lafrance-Melendez, Douglas S Freeman High School, Henrico (Richard S. Reynolds Foundation Scholar)
  • Ben Lashley, Maggie L. Walker Governor's School for Government and International Studies, Richmond (Narang Foundation Scholar)
  • Kat Leibowitz, West Potomac High School, Alexandria
  • Jake Lish, Warhill High School, Williamsburg (Bill Wood Scholar)
  • Riley Long, West Potomac High School, Alexandria
  • Zaianna Maclin, Spotswood High School, Mcgaheysville (Cryor DiNardo Scholar)
  • Kate McDonald Yaun, James Monroe High School, Fredericksburg
  • Simone Nied, Kempsville High School, Virginia Beach
  • Lally Northcutt, Dominion High School, Sterling
  • Cadigan Perriello, St. Anne's-Belfield School, Charlottesville
  • Michael Racz, Hidden Valley High School, Roanoke County (Cryor DiNardo Scholar)
  • Imran Aly Rassiwalla, Maggie L. Walker Governor's School for Government and International Studies, Richmond
  • Grace Sgueglia, Hickory High School, Chesapeake
  • Om Sharma, Langley High School, McLean
  • Thara Venkatesan, South Lakes High School, Reston