2017 HSLP Classes Announced

The Sorensen Institute is thrilled to announce the participants in our 2017 High School Leaders Programs.  This year, due to increased demand, Sorensen will hold two separate sessions of the High School Leaders Program.  Both these classes of students will live in Charlottesville on Grounds at UVA for two weeks and will participate in an intensive learning expereince that will immerse them in Virginia politics, policy, governance, ethics in leadership, and bipartisanship.  The HSLP is designed to help strudents build the knowldge and skills they need to step forward as leaders in their communities.  We are excited to spend the summer with these excellent students!

High School Leaders Program 2017 Group A
July 1st - 15th
Nick Begotka, Thomas Jefferson High School, McLean
Ben Berrett, Princess Ann High School, Virginia Beach
Alexandra Casker, Chatham Hall, Danville
Yirehi Del Valle Roman, TC Williams High School, Lorton
Fitz Elder, St. Anselm’s Abbey School, Waterford
Moira Euker, Lighthouse Academy of Fredericksburg, Fredericksburg
Ben Fallica, St. Anne’s-Belfield School, Charlottesville
Nadia Faour, Potomac High School, Falls Church
Jack Fife, St. Anne’s-Belfield School, Charlottesville
Avery Gagne, Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School, Mechanicsville
Julianna Jones, New Kent High School, New Kent
Pari Kapila, Douglas S. Freeman High School, Richmond
Neil Kothari, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Herndon
Carolyn Lemens, Annandale High School, Alexandria
Ava Liberty, McLean High School, McLean
Kibiriti Majuto, Charlottesville High School, Charlottesville
Megan McEvoy, Roanoke Catholic School, Roanoke
Claire Melton, John S. Battle High School, Bristol
Hayden Miller, Princess Anne High School, Virginia Beach
Alex Moreno, Western Albemarle High School, Crozet
Scotti Mullen, Madison County High School, Pratts
Matthew Nalls, Summit Christian Academy, Yorktown
Catherine Qian, Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School, Glen Allen
Alex Romano, Forest Park High School, Dumfries
Schaefer Shelton, Granby High School, Norfolk
Cam Smithers, Hanover High School, Ashland
High School Leaders Program 2017 Group B
July 22nd - August 5th
Iram Amir, The Steward School, Richmond
Carlos Brown, Jr., Henrico High School, Glen Allen
Eleni Fafoutis, Bishop Sullivan Catholic High School, Virginia Beach
Lucas Johnson, Monticello High School, Charlottesville
Liana Keesing, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, McLean
Andrew Kendall, Craig County High School, New Castle
Thomas Liu, Langley High School, McLean
Chloe Lowell, St. Anne’s-Belfield School, Free Union
Matthew Marsh, Bishop Sullivan Catholic High School, Virginia Beach
Chip Maurer, James Monroe High School, Fredericksburg
Ted McPhillips, Granby High School, Norfolk
Sinead Nardi-White, Nelson County High School, Lovingston
Richard Robles, Potomac Falls High School, Sterling
William Rodriguez, Saint Christopher’s School, Richmond
Landon Sawyer, McLean High School, McLean
Avery Shivers, Christchurch School, White Stone
Chase Smith, Douglass S. Freeman High School, Richmond
Akhil Srirama, Henrico High School, Glen Allen
Choetsow Tenzin, Albemarle High School, Charlottesville
Priya Tran, Keystone National High School, Chantilly
Sabina Vohra, John Randolph Tucker High School, Henrico
Avery Warmack, Woodberry Forest School, Woodberry Forest
Parker Watts, James River High School, North Chesterfield
Maggie Wells, Tunstall High School, Danville
Alex White, Luray High School, Luray
Tuesday, May 2, 2017